SFTP Storage
The SFTP Storage integrationIntegrations connect and integrate Home Assistant with your devices, services, and more. [Learn more] works with the core Backup integration. When you enable SFTP Storage in the Locations section of your Backup integration settings, Home Assistant automatically stores manual and automatic backups on your remote SSH/SFTP server.
To learn how to create and restore a backup, refer to the backup section under common tasks.
Configuration
To add the SFTP Storage service to your Home Assistant instance, use this My button:
Manual configuration steps
If the above My button doesn’t work, you can also perform the following steps manually:
-
Browse to your Home Assistant instance.
-
In the bottom right corner, select the
Add Integration button. -
From the list, select SFTP Storage.
-
Follow the instructions on screen to complete the setup.
Upload a private key file used for authentication. The key must not be protected by a passphrase. Provide this or Password.
If both Password and Private Key File are provided, service will try to log in with private key first, then fallback to password-based authentication if private key authentication fails.
Removing the integration
This integration follows standard integration removal. No extra steps are required.
To remove an integration instance from Home Assistant
- Go to Settings > Devices & services and select the integration card.
- Next to the entry you want to remove, select the three dots
menu. Then, select Delete. - Depending on the integration, the entries are listed under one of the following headings:
- Devices
- Hubs
- Services
- Integration entries
- Depending on the integration, the entries are listed under one of the following headings:
- To confirm, select Delete.
- Home Assistant also deletes the devices and entities of the entry.
- If Home Assistant asks you to restart, restart Home Assistant.
- If Home Assistant asks whether to also delete the application credentials, select Remove or Keep.
- If you keep them, Home Assistant uses them automatically when you add the integration again.
- To delete them later, refer to Deleting application credentials.
- After you remove the integration, all Home Assistant backups stored on the remote server are not automatically deleted. You need to manually delete them from the remote filesystem.